#Election2014: A Mostly Disappointing Night for Asian American & Pacific Islander Politicos

Infographic by APAICS.
These aren’t the election results you deserve, but these are the election results you’re going to get right now (Infographic by APAICS).

2014 was a record-breaking year for Asian American and Pacific Islander political candidates: this year, 39 AAPI candidates launched a campaign for Congressional office compared to 29 in 2012 and only 8 in 2010. 22 AAPI candidates made it past their primary races compared to only 13 two years ago. Four AAPIs were running in a gubernatorial race with an additional 3 competing for the Lt. Governor’s office in Hawaii. An unprecedented 159 AAPI candidates were running for a local elected office in 26 states.

Election Night 2014 was certainly shaping up to be a big night for AAPI political representation. Sadly, this just wasn’t our year. After the jump, here’s the the breakdown of what happened last night.

Continue reading “#Election2014: A Mostly Disappointing Night for Asian American & Pacific Islander Politicos”

List of Asian American 2012 Congressional and Senate Candidates

2012 is a landmark year because a record number of Asian American candidates are on the ballot around the country. The following is a list of Asian American candidates running for Congressional and Senate seats this year. (Please let me know if I’ve missed any!)

I’ll update this table as winners are announced.

Sen/Congress District APIA Candidate Party Opponent Party Winner
CA Congress CD27 Judy Chu* D Jack Orswell R  Chu
CA Congress CD17 Michael Honda* D Evelyn Li (also APIA) R  Honda
CA Congress CD6 Doris Matsui* D Joseph McCray R  Matsui
CA Congress CD7 Ami Bera D Dan Lungren R  -too close-
CA Congress CD9 Ranjit “Ricky” Gill R Jerry McNerney* D  McNerney
CA Congress CD22 Otto Lee D Devin Nunes R  Nunes
CA Congress CD39 Jay Chen D Ed Royce R  Royce
CA Congress CD41 Mark Takano D John F Tavaglione R  Takano
CA Congress CD45 Sukhee Kang D John Campbell R  Campbell
HI Senate Mazie Hirono D Linda Lingle R  Hirono
HI Congress CD1 Colleen Hanabusa* D Charles Djou (also APIA) R  Hanabusa
HI Congress CD2 Tulsi Gabbard D Kawika Crowley R  Gabbard
IL Congress CD8 Tammy Duckworth D Joe Walsh R  Duckworth
MI Congress CD11 Syed Taj D Kerry Bentivolio R  Bentivolio
NJ Congress CD7 Upendra Chivukula D Leonard Lance* R  Lance
NY Congress CD6 Grace Meng D Daniel Halloran R  Meng
NY Congress CD23 Nate Shinagawa D Tom Reed R Reed
NY Congress CD10 Michael Chan R Jerrold Nadler* D  Nadler
PA Congress CD6 Manan Trivedi D Jim Gerlach* R  Gerlach

* — indicates incumbent

Of particular interest is Mazie Hirono’s Senate race in Hawaii. She is competing for the seat vacated by the retiring Senator Daniel Akaka. If she wins, Hirono will be the first Asian American woman to serve in the U.S. Senate.